UND's NCHC Academic All-Conference honorees list grows

Along with the 113 National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) student-athletes recognized back in February, 48 NCHC freshmen and first-year transfers have been added to the 2018-19 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team for their work in the classroom, the conference announced Tuesday. Among those 48 newcomers, 21 also earned NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete recognition for their academic accomplishments.

North Dakota had six newcomers added to list, including Jacob Bernard-Docker, who was tabbed as an NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete. Joining him on the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team were Gavin Hain, Jackson Keane, Mark Senden, Jonny Tychonick and Jasper Weatherby. All told, UND now has 19 NCHC Academic All-Conference honorees from this past season with nine of those also earning NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete accolades.

To be eligible for the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, a student-athlete must compile a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average (or better) and have completed a full academic year at their current institution. Similarly, for NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, a student-athlete must attain a 3.5 cumulative GPA or better with a full year of academic studies. Freshmen and first-year transfers were not eligible when the honors were first announced in February as they had not completed a full academic year, but with the 2018-19 academic calendar complete, the newcomers are now eligible to earn NCHC academic honors. Athletic success and playing time are not criteria for these awards.

In all, 161 NCHC student-athletes made the 2018-19 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, as 113 sophomores, juniors and seniors were recognized on Feb. 19. A total of 73 student-athletes were tabbed NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, including the 52 sophomores, juniors and seniors announced in February. The 73 NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes are the most in the conference's four years since starting to honor any NCHC student-athlete with a 3.5 GPA or better (the previous record was 68). The 161 members of the Academic All-Conference Team are the second-most in the NCHC's six-year history, trailing only the 174 in 2016-17.

The complete list of UND playes who earned NCHC Academic All-Conference Team and Distinguished Scholar-Athlete honors in 2018-19 is below, with Distinguished Scholar-Athletes noted. To see the original list of all 113 NCHC Academic All-Conference Team members and 52 Distinguished Scholar-Athletes from 2018-19, click here.

Ryan Anderson **
Jacob Bernard-Docker **
Gavin Hain
Ludvig Hoff **
Joel Janatuinen
Casey Johnson **
Nick Jones **
Jackson Keane
Matt Kiersted
Andrew Peski
Colton Poolman **
Josh Rieger **
Mark Senden
Hayden Shaw
Cole Smith **
Peter Thome
Jonny Tychonick
Jasper Weatherby
Zach Yon **
(**-- NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes)

(UND Athletics)

Leave a comment