UND's Larson added to Jerry Rice Award Watch List

UND's Larson added to Jerry Rice Award Watch List Click to Enlarge

Nine freshman players who have carved out a niche during the college football season were nominated to the STATS FCS Jerry Rice Award Watch List on Thursday. UND linebacker Noah Larson was added to the list after helping the Fighting Hawks to a pair of wins over ranked teams, a 5-3 record and in the hunt for another NCAA playoff berth.

Larson has tallied 44 tackles thus far this season (25 solo), including three tackles for loss and a sack. He’s started all eight games at inside linebacker, solidifying a Fighting Hawks’ defense that’s in the top 25 in the FCS in scoring defense (22.1).

The Rice Award, named after the legendary Hall of Fame wide receiver, has been presented in the postseason to the FCS freshman player of the year since 2011.

Joining the watch list for the 2018 Rice Award:

Ty Brock, Sam Houston State, QB, R-Fr., 6-4, 210, College Station, Texas

Mohammed Diakite, Penn, CB, Fr., 6-1, 180, Northampton, Pennsylvania

Andrew Edgar, Illinois State, WR, R-Fr., 6-0, 175, Chicago

Juwon Farri, Monmouth, RB, Fr., 5-10, 185, Germantown, Maryland

Ronald Kent Jr., Western Carolina, CB, Fr., 5-10, 160, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Noah Larson, North Dakota, LB, R-Fr., 6-2, 233, Baraboo, Wisconsin

Skyler Perry, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, QB, Fr., 6-3, 197, New Orleans

Xavier Smith, Florida A&M, WR, R-Fr., 5-10, 165, Pembrook Pines, Florida

Jareem Westcott, Stetson, RB, Fr., 5-10, 185, St. Augustine, Florida

Named to the watch list last month were Jack Cook of Dayton, Jon Copeland of UIW, Bailey Fisher of Tennessee Tech and Robert Riddle of Mercer; running backs Josh Davis of Weber State, Alijah Jackson of Robert Morris, Ulonzo Gilliam of UC Davis and Quay Holmes of ETSU; wide receivers Brian Jenkins Jr. of Alabama A&M, Dev Holmes of Albany and Caleb Snead of Campbell; defensive lineman Malik Hamm of Lafayette; linebacker Chris Kolarevic of Northern Iowa; and defensive backs Christian Benford of Villanova and Robby Hauck of Montana.

Still a young award, the Rice is distinguished, with three of the first four recipients to complete their college careers playing in the NFL: former Towson running back Terrance West, Eastern Washington wide receiver Cooper Kupp and Fordham running back Chase Edmonds.

A national panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will vote on the award following the regular season.

Also this season, STATS will present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), Buck Buchanan Award (FCS defensive player of the year), Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) and Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

UND Athletics

Leave a comment