UND, Fargo to play host to 2021 Midwest hockey regional

UND, Fargo to play host to 2021 Midwest hockey regional Click to Enlarge

The NCAA announced that it has selected the University of North Dakota to host the NCAA Men's Hockey Midwest Regional Championship, Mar. 26-27, 2021 at SCHEELS Arena in Fargo, N.D. It will mark the fifth time UND has hosted since 2015 and fourth time in Fargo.

The sites were selected by the Division I Men's Ice Hockey Committee, which is made up of coaches and administrators from NCAA member schools and conferences, and approved by the appropriate divisional championships cabinets/committees.

"We are again extremely excited and honored to be named a regional site in 2021," UND Director of Athletics Bill Chaves said. "Our relationship with SCHEELS Arena has been phenomenal and we believe that we will again provide a tremendous experience for the student-athletes, coaches and fans. It is always important that we try and allow our tremendous fan base the opportunity to see NCAA Tournament hockey within a driving distance, if possible."

UND has previously hosted the NCAA DI Men's Hockey West Regional at SCHEELS Arena in Fargo in both 2015, 2017 and this past season, playing to large audiences in all nine games over those three tournaments.

"We've got a fantastic relationship with the great folks at SCHEELS Arena and the Fargo CVB. We’re honored to partner with them again for the fourth time in 2021," UND Associate Athletic Director for Operations and tournament director Erik Martinson said. "We'll be in preparation-mode pretty quickly here already with it being 23 months out to put on another first-class show that teams and fans have come to expect. We're just as passionate as our fanbase and we aim to set the bar higher each time."

The committee announced all four regional sites for the next two years with the bid process consuming each of the next three postseasons (2020, 2021, 2022). The 2022 regionals have not been announced.

Loveland, Colo., and the Budweiser Events Center will be the site of the West Regional for each of the next two seasons while the 2020 Midwest Regional was awarded to Penn State and the PPL Center in Allentown, Penn., to complete a three-year run for that building.

Ticket information, including on-sale dates and pricing, will be announced at a later date.


2006 Ralph Engelstad Arena

2015 SCHEELS Arena, Fargo, N.D.

2017 SCHEELS Arena, Fargo, N.D.

2018 Denny PREMIER Sanford Center, Sioux Falls, S.D.

2019 SCHEELS Arena, Fargo, N.D.

2021 SCHEELS Arena, Fargo, N.D.

(UND Athletics)

Leave a comment