16 UND alums make NHL opening-night rosters

16 UND alums make NHL opening-night rosters Click to Enlarge

Sixteen UND alumni have made opening-night rosters in the National Hockey League, which begins its regular season schedule tonight (Wednesday).

Former All-American forward T.J. Oshie and the Washington Capitals begin defense of their Stanley Cup championship tonight when they host the Boston Bruins in a game that can be seen on NBC Sports Network at 7:30 pm ET/6:30 pm CT. Another former UND All-American, Zach Parise of the Minnesota Wild, is the longest-tenured NHLer among UND’s active alumni, entering his 13th season and having played in 872 career games.

The Chicago Blackhawks roster features three former UND centers: captain Jonathan Toews, Nick Schmaltz and Luke Johnson. Johnson will become the 101st North Dakota product to reach the NHL when he makes his debut with the Blackhawks. Other NHL teams with multiple UND alumni include the Vancouver Canucks (Brock Boeser, Troy Stecher) and Los Angeles Kings (Derek Forbort, Paul LaDue).

A school-record-tying 22 UND products appeared in the NHL last season, matching the record originally established in in 2016-17.

Several other UND alumni also currently serve in the coaching, management or scouting ranks with NHL franchises, including Philadelphia head coach Dave Hakstol, Arizona video coach Steve Peters, Calgary assistant general manager Brad Pascall, Minnesota director of player development Brad Bombardir, Vancouver senior director of player development Ryan Johnson, New York Rangers director of professional scouting Kevin Maxwell, Los Angeles pro scout Matt Greene, Philadelphia player development coach Brett Hextall, and Arizona skill development coordinator/assistant director of special projects Jeff Ulmer.


(Years at UND in parentheses)

F Brock Boeser (2015-17), Vancouver Canucks

F Drake Caggiula (2012-16), Edmonton Oilers

G Aaron Dell (2009-12), San Jose Sharks

D Derek Forbort (2010-13), Los Angeles Kings

F Luke Johnson (2013-16), Chicago Blackhawks

F Tyson Jost (2016-17), Colorado Avalanche

D Paul LaDue (2013-16), Los Angeles Kings

F Brock Nelson (2010-12), New York Islanders

F T.J. Oshie (2005-08), Washington Capitals

F Zach Parise (2002-04), Minnesota Wild

F Carter Rowney (2009-13), Anaheim Ducks

D Jordan Schmaltz (2012-15), St. Louis Blues

F Nick Schmaltz (2014-16), Chicago Blackhawks

D Troy Stecher (2013-16), Vancouver Canucks

F Jonathan Toews (2005-07), Chicago Blackhawks

F Travis Zajac (2004-06), New Jersey Devils

UND Athletics

Leave a comment