Jul 1, 2013 at 11:57 am
Gov. Jack Dalrymple signed legislation that increases fines and other penalties for drunken driving in North Dakota. The new law that takes effect on July 1 will require jail time or community service work for first-time DUI offenders who have a blood alcohol content of 0.16 percent, or twice the state's legal limit of 0.08 percent. Repeat offenders will face minimum mandatory jail sentenced and mandatory participation in the 24/7 Sobriety Program. There were 6,600 DUI arrests in North Dakota during 2011.