Vehicle Crash Notification
Doug Barrett | Jan 11, 2019 AT 8:23 am
The North Dakota House has unanimously endorsed a measure that changes the threshold for vehicle accident reporting.
North Dakota law says crashes are required to be immediately reported in cases of death, injury or when property damage exceeds $1,000. The House on Thursday raised the threshold to $4,000.
Republican Rep. Robert Paulson of Minot says the bill is supported by law enforcement. Paulson says the idea is to free up officers to deal with other matters.
Paulson says it doesn't take much of a crash to cause $1,000 damage to a vehicle.
The bill now goes to the North Dakota Senate for consideration.