ND Senate President

ND Senate President Click to Enlarge

Devils Lake Sen. Dave Oehlke (EL'-kee) has been chosen as the North Dakota Senate's new president pro tempore (pro TEM'-por-ay).

The job involves presiding over Senate sessions when the lieutenant governor is absent.Oehlke will have the job until the next regular session of the Legislature begins in January 2019.Oehlke is a Republican. The GOP has the majority in the North Dakota Senate, and Oehlke defeated FargoDemocrat Merrill Piepkorn on Thursday to win the job.Oehlke was first elected to the Senate in 2007.

Leave a comment